Reining in Negativity | #MyFridayStory №312

Frans Nel
3 min readNov 24, 2023

--

Jerusalem

In the ebb and flow of life, there are moments when the tides of negativity threaten to engulf us. As my friend and mentor’s T-shirt boldly states,

“THE WORLD HAS GONE MAD.”

It’s easy to find ourselves caught in the undertow.

On October 7, 2023, the world saw a distressing event when Hamas launched an unprovoked attack on Israel. A relentless barrage of 5000 missiles struck Israel. It almost seemed to catch its highly respected military off guard. The initial images painted a stark picture of the onslaught of missiles.

Hamas officials said the attack was in response to the Israeli occupation and blockade of Gaza. Further, they claimed Israeli settlers attacked Palestinians, limited Palestinian movement, and imprisoned many Palestinians. Israel retaliated, starting a war that continues despite global criticism and no ceasefire in sight.

Over the past seven weeks, I found myself increasingly mired in negativity as I absorbed the unfolding events. The toll this conflict took on both sides left me troubled, and I longed for an end to the suffering.

Yet, a shift occurred this past Wednesday that realigned my perspective. As I began my day, a timely message from a friend flashed on my phone. It carried a profound reminder from Philippians 4:4:

‘Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice!’

- There is always something to be thankful for and to rejoice about.

- We should focus on God’s goodness and not on the negativity around us.

- Let today be a day to be thankful and to rejoice in His love and kindness.

- Let’s expect His goodness, celebrate His faithfulness and REJOICE!

This simple yet powerful message urged me to focus on the goodness of God amidst the surrounding negativity. It encouraged me to be thankful and rejoice in His love and kindness. As I absorbed these words, a ray of sunlight pierced through my window, illuminating my desk and, in turn, my heart.

Sitting alone at my desk, I couldn’t help but smile at the clichéd yet poignant moment unfolding. Amid the routine sounds of the shop, the warmth of the sunbeam on my face became a tangible symbol of God’s presence. As I prayed, gratitude filled my heart, and I realised a crucial truth:

Despite the chaos in the world, God remains in control.

No matter how dire things may seem, His goodness will ultimately prevail. In moments of uncertainty, finding solace in this unchanging truth can be a beacon of hope. Let’s remember to rejoice in His love, celebrate His faithfulness, and hold fast to the belief that His goodness will reign supreme.

Have an awesome weekend and please remember to be generous! 😄

As always, thanks for reading 🙏

PS — If you haven’t yet seen the clip of Chief Rabbi Goldstein of South Africa on the Israel/Hamas war, it’s worth the 24 minutes.

To receive #MyFridayStory every week, please join any Tribe below:

--

--